Monthly Archives: September 2015

“BISHOPS 4 LIFE” Organization Started at B.D.H.S.

In the 2014-15 school year, a Respect/Pro-Life Group was formed at Bishop Donahue.  It was a small group of concerned students and teachers who believed that ALL HUMAN LIFE IS PRECIOUS.  The group participated in the Life Chain on Respect Life Sunday 2014, and March for Life in Washington, DC in 2015.  

This year, that small group has grown and now 46 students and teachers are members.  The growing Pro-Life group took the name BISHOPS 4 LIFE and each class has elected a leader.  Class leaders include:  Kaitlyn Harris (Sr.),  Madison Keller (Jr.), Sophia Gretchen ( So.),  and Quinn Berletch (Fr.).

DSCN0408Freshmen and Sophomore members of Bishops 4 Life pray daily before lunch.  The group is participating in 40 Days for Life (Sept. 23 – November 1), the largest internationally coordinated pro-life mobilization in history. 

Retreat Days Renew our Marist Spirit

DSCN0077BDHS students spent quality time September 14th and 15th, 2015, learning about what the “Marist Tradition” means at Bishop Donahue and learning about the 5 Marks of a Marist Student.

Matt Fallon, Director of Youth Ministry @Marist Youth USA, and Marist Volunteer Nina Lokar , led our retreat days. Our students learned about St. Marcellin’s journey to establish the Marist Brothers, his philosophy, and tireless works to ensure every child was educated and knew God, Jesus and Mary.

 The second part of the day centered on the 5 marks of a Marist Student. All classes took a lot of pride in discussing how Bishop Donahue emulates those marks each day, individually and collectively as follow the Marist traditions.


2015 Homecoming Court Named


Congratulations to the 2015 Homecoming Court. Top Row: Kaitlyn H., Abbey M. , Macenzie C., and Samantha Z. Bottom Row: Sommer S., Adrienne R., Shelby D.

Bishop Donahue Announces Scholarship Winners for 2015-16

scholarshipsBishop Donahue High School principal Tom Wise recently announced that $59,000.00 in scholarships was awarded for the 2015-2016 school year.  Twenty-one  privately funded scholarships were awarded to 95 students.  The annual scholarship program is open to all Bishop Donahue students. Students wishing to apply for 2016-17 scholarships can complete an application at the conclusion of this school year.  The 2015-16 scholarship recipients are:

3 Angels Tennyball Scholarship:  Quinn Berletch, Nevaeh Crow, Autumn Johnson, Josie Purpura, Anthony Robbins, and Grace Williams.

Angel Fund Scholarship: Robert Chesonis, Allyson Berletch, Sarah Heller, Vinny Mangino, Emily Nelson, Mickey Reilly, Caitlyn Robinson, Shay Straughn, Joel Varner, and Merrick Weltz.

BDHS Alumni Association Scholarship: Destiny Moffatt.

David Beabout Memorial Scholarship: Shane Hercules and Mickey Reilly.

M. Marinda Beebe Memorial Scholarship: Megan Stout, Cade Canestraro, Whitney McQuain, Logan Wells, and Alyson Young.

Class of 1959 Scholarship: Jewel Purpura. 

Courtney & Danielle Block Memorial Scholarship: Andrew Rush, Sommer South, Jennifer Little, Trent Snyder, Jacob Varner,  Madison Wiedebusch, Joel Varner, and Sydney Zimla.

Father Raymond Jablinske Memorial Scholarship:  Coleton Berletch, Samantha Zimla, Shae Reinbeau, Patrick Malloy, Nathan Rush, Allyson Berletch, and Madison Menendez.

Dave Kady Memorial Scholarship:  Dustin Beazel and Patrick Malloy.

Michael “Murph” Lake Memorial Scholarship: Chris Albert, Lauren Bonar, Macenzie Coffield, Hailey Dobrzynski, and Zoey Gast.

Lawrence and Ann Lander Memorial Scholarship:  Cory Dobrzynski and Hailey Dobrzynski.

Scott Melko Memorial Scholarship:  Abbey Mele, Josie Bonar, Luke LeMasters, Taylor Straughn, Lauren Bonar, and Danielle Ferrera.

Chuck Morningstar Memorial Scholarship:  Tiara Bertrand and Matthew Fouty.

Mickey Phipps Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Bonar.

Poe Family Scholarship: Macenzie Coffield, David Coleman, Shelby Davis, Dylan Druschel, Alex Huff, Noah Martin, Adrienne Rulong, Tyler Warble, Jacob Beyser, Cassidy Campbell, JC Custer, Will Dove, Zoey Gast, Junior Holmes, Logan Ingram, Koltin Kleeh, Matt Miller, Trey Miller, Victoria Potts,  Shae Reinbeau, Elizabeth Smith, John Stocklask, Morgan Weltz, Madelyn Adkins, Olivia Carte, Robert Chesonis, Riley DiLoretta, Alyssa Ehni, Jamie Emery, Ulayna Hartley, Melanie Kwiatkoski, Melissa O’Kelley, Isabel Reilly, Sarah Riedel, Logan Ruckh, Blaise Stewart, Tyler Swann,  Logan Wells, Clinton Whitelatch, Hannah Williams, Alyson Young, Hailey Dobrzynski, Sarah Heller, and Shay Straughn.

Schmitt Family Scholarship: Chris Albert, Tiara Bertrand, Matthew Fouty, Hayden Kaschke, Mickey Reilly, Caitlyn Robinson, and Merrick Weltz.

Tommy “Dino” Memorial Scholarship:  Vinny Mangino.

Jenny Sparachane Memorial Scholarship:  Macenzie Coffield and Kenzie Bauer.

Sandie Stenger Memorial Scholarship: Kaitlyn Harris, Abbey Mele, Andrew Rush, Kyle Swann, Matthew Wesolowski, Samantha Zimla, Chris Barry, Tessa Bauer,  Madyson Keller, Koltin Kleeh, Jewel Purpura, Jennifer Richmond, Elizabeth Smith, Taylor Straughn, Chris Albert, Dustin Beazel, Lauren Bonar, Caroline Brannan, Robert Chesonis, Clinton Whitelatch, Quinn Berletch, Nevaeh Crow, Madison Menendez, Destiny Moffatt, Emily Nelson, and Anthony Robbins.

Rhea Wanstreet Memorial Scholarship: Dustin Beazel.

Tom and Louise Wise Memorial Scholarship: Grace Williams.

Donors interested in supporting the scholarship program at Bishop Donahue High School should contact Donna Krupica in the Advancement Office at 304-233-3850.

BD Alumnus Bernie Twigg Recognized for Outstanding Service

Bernie Twigg0004Bernard “Bernie” Twigg (`73), director of community affairs for WesBanco Bank, Inc., is the recipient of the 2015 WVU Children’s Hospital Community Service Award.

A native of McMechen, Twigg is a graduate of Bishop Donahue High School, West Liberty University, West Virginia University, and Wheeling Jesuit University.

Over the years, Twigg has been very active in the community, serving on boards both regionally and statewide. He is on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee of the Bel‐O‐Mar Regional Council and the Ohio Valley Building and Industrial Development Corporation. He serves as chairman of the Reynolds Memorial Hospital Board of Directors and is a board member for the West Virginia Independent Colleges and Universities. He previously served as chairman of the West Liberty University Board of Governors.

Twigg was appointed by Gov. Bob Wise to the West Virginia Grant Commission, through which he helped secure the funding for the Highlands, expansions for Oglebay Resort and Conference Center’s Wilson Lodge, and improvements at Marshall County’s Grand Vue Park. For his work, Twigg received the Distinguished West Virginian Award.

He currently resides in Glen Dale with his wife, Sharon. They have three children and four grandchildren. His mother, Katherine Twigg Long, still resides in McMechen.

ENJOY BOOKS Available Oct. 9th

ENJOY_3D_book-OV16The 2016 Enjoy Coupon Books will arrive the week of Oct. 5, 2015.  The Ohio Valley Enjoy Book is filled with hundreds of buy one get one free offers, discount coupons and other offers for restaurants, entertainment and services.  The Wheeling Area Enjoy Coupon Book sells for $40.00. Enjoy Coupon Books will be available through December 31, 2015.  The coupons can be used until October 31, 2016.