Monthly Archives: September 2014

2014-15 Scholarship Winners Announced

scholarshipsBishop Donahue High School has awarded $55,300.00 in scholarships for the 2014-2015 school year.  Principal Tom Wise announced the scholarship recipients to the student body on September 19, 2014.

The scholarship program is open to all Bishop Donahue students who complete the application. Students wishing to apply for 2015-16 scholarships can complete an application at the conclusion of this school year.  Sixteen privately funded scholarships were awarded this year, and the school continues to search for alumni and friends who wish to create and present new scholarships. The monetary awards not only help defray the cost of tuition, but motivate and encourage students.  The 2014-15 scholarship recipients are:

 Courtney & Danielle Block Memorial Scholarship: Ekaterina Polinski, Cheyanne Reinbeau, Andrew Rush, Sommer South, Jennifer Little, Trent Snyder, Jacob Varner, and Madison Wiedebusch.

 Father Raymond Jablinske Memorial Scholarship:  Adriana Theiss, Coleton Berletch, Samantha Zimla, Shae Reinbeau, Patrick Malloy, and Nathan Rush.

 3 Angels Tennyball Scholarship:  Chris Albert, Dustin Beazel, Olivia Carte, Robert Chesonis, Elana Polinski, Tyler Swann, and Alyson Young.

 Angel Fund Scholarship: David Coleman, Kyle Swann, Chris Barry, Zoey Gast, Koltin Kleeh, Luke LeMasters, Elizabeth Smith, John Stocklask, Chris Albert, David Beabout, Jamie Emery, and Melissa O’Kelley.

 Scott Melko Memorial Scholarship:  Brett Moore, Abbey Mele, Chris Barry, Josie Bonar, Luke LeMasters, and Taylor Straughn.

 Dave Kady Memorial Scholarship:  Caroline Brannan and Riley DiLoretta.

 Jenny Sparachane Memorial Scholarship:  Shelby Davis and Graydon Hoffer.

 Lawrence and Ann Lander Memorial Scholarship:  Jennifer Richmond and Melissa O’Kelley.

 BDHS Alumni Association Scholarship: Cade Canestraro.

 Sandie Stenger Memorial Scholarship:  Stephen Gretchen, Cheyanne Reinbeau, Matthew Wesolowski, Samantha Zimla, Chris Barry, Madyson Keller, John Stocklask, Chris Albert, Kenzie Bauer, Dustin Beazel, Olivia Carte, Robert Chesonis, Dalton Goddard, Patrick Malloy, Melissa O’Kelley, Elana Polinski, Tyler Swann, Clinton Whitelatch, Madison Wiedebusch, and Alyson Young.

 Class of 1959 Scholarship: Jewel Purpura.

 Poe Family Scholarship: Kacie Jo Brown, Jarrett Coffield, Kenadee Kleeh, Brett Moore, Cheyanne Reinbeau, Samantha Stewart, Adrian Whorton, Shelby Davis, Kaitlyn Harris, Matthew Wesolowski, Tessa Bauer, Jacob Beyser, Zoey Gast, Junior Holmes, Madyson Keller, Trey Miller, Harrison Nick, Trent Snyder, John Stocklask, Megan Stout, Chris Albert, Kenzie Bauer, David Beabout, Dustin Beazel, Caroline Brannan, Cade Canestraro, Riley DiLoretta, Alyssa Ehni, Jamie Emery, Dalton Goddard, Ulayna Hartley, Graydon Hoffer, Cody Kimmel, Melanie Kwiatkoski, Sarah Riedel, Isabel Reilly, Nathan Rush, Blaise Stewart, Danielle Stout, Jacob Varner, Kylee Weekly, and Clinton Whitelatch.

 Schmitt Family Scholarship: Shelby Davis, Jacob Beyser, Cassidy Campbell, John Stocklask, Alyssa Ehni, Ulayna Hartley, Cody Kimmel, and Melanie Kwiatkoski

 Chuck Morningstar Memorial Scholarship:  Kenzie Bauer and Kylee Weekly.

 Tommy “Dino” Memorial Scholarship:  Josh Miller, Cory Dobrzynski, Kyle Swann, and Clinton Whitelatch.

 Tom and Louise Wise Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Riedel and Isabel Reilly.

 Those interested in supporting the Scholarship Program at Bishop Donahue Memorial High School, please call Donna Krupica in the Advancement Office at 304-233-3850.

September Students of the Month Honored

DSCF8966Congratulations to Hanna Little and Taylor Straughn,  our September Students of the Month. The Student of the Month program is generously sponsored by the Knights of Columbus.  Each month, two students are recognized for their outstanding academic performance, attitude, character, and service to the school or community.

Trent Kalcum Snyder Chosen for Congress of Future Medical Leaders in Washington, DC

StethTrent Kalcum Snyder, a Sophomore at Bishop Donahue, will attend the Congress of Future Medical Leaders in Washington, DC on November 14, 15 and 16th, 2014.

The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate and direct the top students in the country who aspire to be physicians or medical scientists, to stay true to their dream and, after the event, to provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach their goal.

Trent was nominated by Dr. Connie Mariano, the Medical Director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists to represent Bishop Donahe High School based on his academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine.

During the three-day Congress, Trent will join students from across the country and hear Nobel Laureates and National Medal of Science Winners talk about leading medical research;be given advice from Ivy League and top medical school deans on what is to expect in medical school;witness stories told by patients who are living medical miracles; be inspired by fellow teen medical science prodigies; and learn about cutting-edge advances and the future in medicine and medical technology.

“This is a crucial time in America when we need more doctors and medical scientists who are even better prepared for a future that is changing exponentially,” said Richard Rossi, Executive Director, National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists. “Focused, bright and determined students like Trent Kalcum Snyder are our future and he deserves all the mentoring and guidance we can give him.”

The Academy offers free services and programs to students who want to be physicians or go into medical science. Some of the services and programs the Academy plans to launch in 2014 and 2015 are online social networks through which future doctors and medical scientists can communicate; opportunities for students to be guided and mentored by physicians and medical students; and communications for parents and students on college acceptance and finances, skills acquisition, internships, career guidance and much more.

The National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists was founded on the belief that we must identify prospective medical talent at the earliest possible age and help these students acquire the necessary experience and skills to take them to the doorstep of this vital career. Based in Washington, D.C., the Academy was chartered as a nonpartisan, taxpaying institution to help address this crisis by working to identify, encourage and mentor students who wish to devote their lives to the service of humanity as physicians, medical scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians.

Homecoming Queen and King Crowned

HC Court at game_renamed_26758Congratulations to Tess Fallova, the B.D.H.S. 2014 Homecoming Queen and Matt Vucelik, who was named as the Homecoming King.  Photo (l to r): Queen Tess Fallova, Cheyanne Reinbeau, Adriana Theiss, Taylor Koontz, Ekaterina Polinski and Kenadee Kleeh.

Brother Dan O’Riordan Leads Student Retreats

photo 15644156Marist Brother Dan O’Riordan returned to McMechen  on Sept. 8 and 9 to lead two days of retreats for our students.  Brother Dan is a former B.D. staff member and is currently stationed in Esopus, NY where he serves as Vocation Director.  Thanks to all who helped make the retreats a blessed and fun experience and special thanks to our friend, Brother Dan!

Bishops Celebrate Homecoming at Annual Games Day

The annual Homecoming Games Day celebration was held Sept. 12 and brought an end to our Homecoming week at school.  Special thanks to St. James and John, St. Vincent’s and St. Michael’s for joining in our celebration.


View the entire Homecoming Games Day Photo Album Here