Monthly Archives: May 2014


Class of 2014-001The B.D.H.S. Class of 2014 Commencement was held May 20, 2014 in the Fr. Raymond Jablinske Memorial  Gymnasium.  The 29 members of the Class of 2014 were joined by several School Board members including Fr. Dennis Schuelkens, faculty, administration, staff, parents, family, and friends filling the gymnasium.  The graduates were addressed by Valedictorian Alexa Tweedlie, Salutatorian Renae Kudla, and Principal Tom Wise.  Diplomas were awarded by School Board President John Pastorius and Mr. Wise.

During the ceremony, students were recognized for their OVAC BANNERS-001outstanding accomplishments.  Counselor Amy Granato announced that the Class of 2014 has been offered $1,143,322 in scholarships over the next four years.  Scholarship winners include:  David Beazel, Dylan Boston, Tim Cherry, Austin Cunningham, Miranda Heitz, Elaysia Hill, Brandon Howard, Bryce Jones, Hunter Kaschke, Marley Keller, Renae Kudla, Gabe Mickey, Eric Myers, Carly Polis, Kelsey Schau, Alexa Tweedlie, Christopher Vani, and Haley Zahnow.


DSC_9043-001Special  awards were presented by faculty member Loretta Metz.  Dylan Boston received the Fred Calissie Memorial Award, presented yearly to the Senior who best exemplifies the ideals of a parochial school education.David Beazel and Carly Polis received scholastic honors in Religion and were presented with Bibles provided by the Knights of Columbus.  Finally, The Champagnat Medal was awarded to Mr. Jim Dailer for his service and dedication in the Marist Tradition to the students and families of B.D.H.S.  Mr. Dailer will retire this year after 9 years at B.D.H.S. as teacher and A.D. and over 40 years in education.

Once again, Congratulations to all the graduates and their families!

Graduation Photo Gallery

Class of 2014 Gathers for Baccalaureate Mass

DSCF0294The Class of 2014 joined as one for Baccalaureate Mass on May 19.  Concelebrated by Fr. Bekeh and Fr. Dennis at St. James church, our seniors attended their final Mass together as students of Bishop Donahue High School.

Following communion, seven students received he Champagnat award.  Named after St. Marcellin Champagnat, the founder of the Marist Brothers, the award was presented to students for outstanding service to the disadvantaged.  Congratulations to our Champagnat award winners: David Beazel, Dylan Boston, Tim Cherry, Miranda Heitz, Carly Polis, Kelsey Schau and Chris Vani.

Baccalaureate photo gallery.

Class of `94 Reunion

The Class of 1994 celebrating their 20 year reunion.

Seated left to right: Ryan Richards, Lorrie (Green) Spigarelli, Joe Giovengo, Karen Brafchak, and Matt Paul.

Center left to right: Gene Polsinelli, Shawn Stout, Jason Kordack, Jason Marling, Ella (Richmond) Snyder, and Craig Stoehr.

Back left to right: John Kulavick, Mike Hough, Mark McCormick, and Kari Ebbert-Maury.

Not pictured: Sara Cunningham Woodburn.

Reunion Class of 94

OLP Principal C’Ann Reilly Honored by B.D. Student Body

IMG_3988-001On May 15, the B.D.H.S. student body and staff payed tribute to retiring Our Lady of Peace Principal C’Ann Reilly and thanked her for her 38 years of leadership and service to our Catholic schools. C’Ann was presented a bouquet of yellow flowers and a a gold plaque which will be added to our WALL OF SUPPORT. The plaque reads:

Presented to C’Ann Reilly 

Ecclesiastes 3:1 “There is an appointed time for everything under the heavens”

With our sincere thanks for your immeasurable contributions to Catholic education.  Your love, faith, and support guided generations of young minds to seek our Lord. 

 God Bless You and Now and Forever,

 The Students and Staff of Bishop Donahue High School, 2014.

Polis and Joel Named May Students of the Month

DSCF8396-001Congratulations to Carly Polis and Tissan Joel, our May Students of the Month. The Student of the Month program is generously sponsored by the Knights of Columbus.  Each month, two students are recognized for their outstanding academic performance, attitude, character, and service to the school or community.

Seniors Represent B.D.H.S. In OVAC All Star Game


Five Bishop Donahue students will participate in the 2014 OVAC Football All Star game.  Pictured left to right: Lavonte Hampton (Football), Abby Randolph (Cheering), Kelsey Schau (Cheering), Elaysia Hill (Queen of Queens), and Chris Vani (Football).


Final Exam Schedule Announced

  • Below is the final exam schedule for May 28, 29, and 30.  We will hold a make-up day on Monday, June 2.
  • Each exam is one hour and fifteen minutes.
  • Students must remain in the exam room the entire one hour and fifteen minutes.
9:25 – 10:40: Period 1
10:40 – 10:55: Gym (prayer & announcements)
11:00 – 12:15:  Period 2
12:15 to 12:35: LUNCH
12:40-1:55: Period 3
 THURSDAY, MAY 29, 2014
 8:25 – 9:40: Period 4/5
 9:40 – 9:55: Gym (prayer & announcements)
10:00 – 11:15:  Period 6
FRIDAY  MAY 30, 2014
8:25 – 9:40: Period 7
9:40 – 9:55: Gym (prayer & announcements)
10:00 – 11:15:  Period 8 





Athletic Banquet Major Award Winners

Front, left to right: Alexa Tweedlie (B.D.H.S. Female Sportsmanship Award), Kelsey Schau (Msgr. Benjamin Farrell Female Scholar-Athlete Award).  Back, left to right: David Beazel (Chester Zimla Award), Hunter Kaschke (Richard “Dick” Kerwood Male Scholar-Athlete Award), Chris Vani (George T. McCulley Sr. Memorial Award).  Congratulations to all!!!

B.D. Thanks Fr. Bekeh for a Year of Prayer

The B.D.H.S student body expressed their gratitude to Fr. Bekeh on May 9, tDSCF8385_renamed_5273he last Mass of the year that included our graduating seniors.  Fr. Bekeh generously volunteered and donated his time each Friday morning to celebrate Mass with our students during the 2013-14 school year.

Students Inducted into NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

On May 8, Bishop Donahue proudly welcomed and DSCF8159inducted ten students into the National Honor Society.  Our most prestigious organization, students gain a nomination based on earning a demanding cumulative grade point average.  Those students who qualify are then judged by the faculty in regards to LEADERSHIP, SERVICE, and CHARACTER. Congratulations to our new inductees: Kaitlyn Harris, Sommer South, Samantha Zimla, Abbey Mele, Will Robinson, Coleton Berletch, Stephen Gretchen, Hanna LIttle, Adriana Theiss and Josh Miller.