Aquinas and St. Sebastian Medal Winners Selected

St. Sebastian – Female Winner Aquinas Medal Winner St. Sebastian – Male Winner
DSC_8711_pp DSC_8707_pp DSC_8542_pp
Samantha Zimla Kaitlyn Harris  Trey Miller

The Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston has announced the winners of the Aquinas Medal and the St. Sebastian Medal.  Sponsored by the West Virginia Knights of Columbus, the Aquinas Medal is the highest award a student can receive from the Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston. Through the Aquinas award, the diocese recognizes one student from each school for their outstanding qualities of faithful discipleship, academic excellence, leadership, and service to their school, parish, and community. The award reflects the ideals of Catholic education epitomized by St. Thomas Aquinas, the Catholic patron saint of students.  This year a new award has been added.  One young man and one young woman from each high school will receive the St. Sebastian Medal for being a high-achieving student athlete and exhibiting the qualities of sportsmanship, teamwork, academics, and a high respect for school, classmates, teammates, opponents, parish, and the community.  Bishop Donahue is proud to announce that Kaitlyn Harris is the recipient of the Aquinas Medal and that Samantha Zimla and Trey Miller are the winners of the St. Sebastian Medal.


Share Button